do you have a plan?

I’m a little worried.  Okay – I’m a lot worried!

All the natural disasters that’ve been hitting our planet within, what seems like, a very short period of time have me thinking.  What if something happens where I live?  Would I even know what to do?

article
source: Our Times, March 18 2011

From this article that was published in our community paper you can see my answer.  No, I would not know what to do.  In fact, none of us would know what to do, or what would be expected of us, should disaster strike.

As a practical sort I like to be prepared – or at least as prepared as a person can be – when facing the power and unpredictability of Nature.  After reading this article I am even more worried than I was before.  The “disaster plan” for our town seems to focus on the most obvious threats.  Does that mean we shouldn’t prepare for the totally unexpected?  Is it possible for a disaster plan to be completely off base when it includes the 1/million possibility?

I would rather be thought a fool than be left without knowledge (or a plan).  Wherever you live, I hope that your town has communicated a disaster plan and maybe even had a practice drill or two.

10 thoughts on “do you have a plan?

    • It’s true that it isn’t always possible to limit damage, or save lives, when the worst happens. There are cases though when there is a bit of warning and that’s when one needs to know what to do to help oneself and others.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  1. I think South Africa has so few disasters – at least of the earthquake/tsunami variety – that it’s never occurred to us to have a plan. Think the only thing our town has plans for is flooding or if there is a wild fire. And the normal response re: flooding seems to be “call the army, they’ll know what to do”!

    I am going to have to investigate!

    • I was thinking exactly that (about the earthquake/tsunami) when I saw the article. I have to wonder about the possibility of a tsunami at least, living in a coastal town and all.

      Would love to hear what you dig up on your end.

  2. Now that was thought-provoking, Clouded. I wouldn’t know what to do in the case of a natural or man-made disaster either…

    Cape Town has a nuclear power station (Koeberg) way too close to the city, and if anything should go awry there, I wonder whether the City has emergency evacuation procedures in place. I’d read that they had tested the sirens some time ago, but with all the new housing developments out that way, and the resulting congestion on the roads, I seriously doubt that people will be able to flee if they need to.

    I did read, though, that in Japan, they regularly teach schoolchildren and workers what to do in the case of earthquakes etc. We should do something like that here too, don’t you think?

    • You know, I remember us having drills at school for fires and bomb threats on a regular basis. That’s the only emergency situations I had some tools for. “Had” being the operative word. I’ve now started thinking about what/how I should change things inside my home, just in case.

      Yes, I’m wondering with you whether the city / town planners actually take into account the risks their developments might pose to the people living in the area. I found this on Eskom’s site http://www.eskom.co.za/live/content.php?Item_ID=209 – would be interesting to learn whether Cape Town has something in place that will work with that.

      If there are plans in place it should be practiced, especially as that would help sort out some possible oversights. Even with no plans, it is important to know what to do.

  3. Interesting you should mention this, CM. Our CBC Radio just had a piece this morning about emergency kits…they sent a reporter knocking on doors asking if people had emergency kits (provisions for 72 hours). Most did not (myself included). I think most of us operate on the assumption that if something happens, it won’t happen to US!

    Wendy
    (with head firmly buried in the sand)

    • I’ve got an “emergency kit” that’s way past its expiration – but it wouldn’t have lasted 1 hour, much less 72! Thanks, Wendy, this is something to take note of.

      Those sand heaps are really unbelievably comfortable, aren’t they?!

  4. When something of this nature happens it makes us all ask questions and wonder what we would do if disaster struck our area. I live in a small community of about 150. I don’t think this has ever been discussed and it should be.

Leave a Reply

