my tribal philosophy

Lisa wrote a very interesting post, titled “Building your own tribe”, which in turn links to another very interesting post by Mark Schaefer. If you haven’t done so already, please visit her blog to read it, and the linked post, to see how it relates to this post. You might also want to revisit a previous post of mine “to like, or not to like”.

There are at least a couple of questions in blog-world, in terms of blogging, that never get old. Why? Because the answers very seldom stay exactly the same over an extended period of time as we forge our way, and continue to grow, in the ever expanding world of blogging. I think these questions are also very healthy to ask oneself from time to time – to get back to the root of your blog, so to speak. Ever noticed how easy it is to lose focus, to be overwhelmed by the excitement of growing stats and a reader following? Hey, we’re only human (such a handy excuse/reason 😉 ) Having people read our blogs is exciting! There’s no denying that.

I started blogging in a very tentative, please-don’t-notice-me, kind of way. At the same time I was secretly hoping that others will read my words. I guess you can say I had a constant feeling of excitement-dread, somewhere between my stomach and head, whenever I published a post. Lucky for me I had one reader, who is a good friend, when I started out. She’s still hanging in there with me, helping me with advice, encouragement, and posts that makes a person think.  By the way, I think that it is very important to have such a support system  when one voluntarily makes oneself vulnerable, like we bloggers do.

I’ve been blogging for nine months now, and I have only a handful of readers. I like it that way. I like thinking that the people who visit with me is doing so because they really want to. Having people continue to read my stuff just out of courtesy because I read, commented or liked, something they wrote is not something I aspire to. There’s no joy in that for either party. And let’s face it, not everything I write is going to be of interest to a large number of people. This little fact would give me sleepless nights, ulcers and who knows what else – IF I was competing for a Miss World Blogger award!

Another plus of slow growth, for me, is that I keep pace with my blog.  It isn’t running out from under me.  There is no need for me to  constantly struggle with the juggle – the “juggle” being work, family, blogging,  moderating comments, reading blogs, and my other hobbies.  I’ve seen a lot of advice on blogging where it is recommended to have a fixed schedule for posts, or to post regularly.  My personal decision is to not put too much pressure on myself to deliver on an assumption of what it is my readers expect of me.

“I really believe that if I write good, authentic posts about things I’m really interested in, somebody will want to read them . . .”

I couldn’t agree with you more, Lisa!  It’s important to stay true to who we are, and let everything else build from there.  If we enjoy what we do,  what we write about, chances are there is at least one other person in the Universe who will enjoy it with us.

And one is an excellent number to start building a tribe on!

10 thoughts on “my tribal philosophy

  1. I’d say you have more than a handful of readers! What I like about the way you write is that your posts are always authentic.Maybe because you only write when you feel you having something to say?

    Thanks for the mention! 🙂

  2. Most of us in our little communities of bloggers write initially because it’s either fun, or therapeutic. The readership is just a bonus. I think at the point where it becomes difficult to respond to your readers and read your subscriptions than it becomes more like work and not much fun anymore! I like it because I have found a handful of very interesting people from all parts of the world, who most likely I’ll never meet or know in person, but that I can interact with on a somewhat regular basis. That whole concept is amazing to me! It’s like the old fashioned pen-pal… just all grown-up!

    • I agree, Steve – blogging, and being part of the blogging community is really neat!

      Here’s hoping we never find blogging, and what goes with it, a chore 😉

  3. I like your post – I agree. For a while I was tempted to chase the stats and build a reader base any way I could – but I decided it was more important to post what interests me and go at a comfortable pace. I’m happy to see everyone who stops by, whether it’s 1 a day or 100.

  4. Interesting post, Clouded…I never want to be one of those “popular” bloggers who doesn’t have time to answer comments (I don’t follow those people either)! I have worked very hard over the past year to build up a community of excellent writers who offer mutual support and encouragement. I consider them all friends, even though most of them I’m never likely to meet in person.

    Wendy

    • I have a mixed view on comments.

      I don’t necessarily expect every comment I make to get answered – but I guess it mostly depends on the type of comment. If I asked a question it is really nice to get an answer 🙂

      Sometimes I’d just express my view, and that doesn’t always require a response.

      When I moderate comments on my blog I sometimes find that I need time to think about it, so it might happen that my responses are a little delayed.

Leave a Reply

