getting my hopes up and dashed in three seconds flat

Imagine, if you will, being awaken from sleep by the sound of a SMS alert.

You reach out in the dark, feeling around for your phone.  You haven’t been asleep that long so your eyelids are kind of stuck together still.  It takes a lot of effort to open your eyes.  Squinting at the cellphone screen your brain attempts to un-scramble the message that reads:

YOU HAVE WON R3 MILLION RANDS …

What?!  Your heart starts a frantic little flutter.

You widen your eyes until your eyebrows almost reach your hairline and then you squint a little more . . .

YOU HAVE WON R3 MILLION RANDS FROM SHELL PETROLEUM UK/SAUDI LOTTO DRAW. REF NO: SSG7.CONTACT SMITH FOR CLAIM, 0734240789 OR shelloiluk@ozu.es FROM 8AM TO 5PM

Sigh.

Yeah, right!  If only.  But did you really have to wake me to read about the scam you’re running? Twice!? And is there some psychological reasoning behind the time of day you chose to send the message?

Never mind.  My heart calmed down the instant I read “lotto draw” and realized that this is just another one of those messages.  I fell back into peaceful sleep.

This morning I’m wondering if there are things like psychic scam artists?  Winning our National Lottery has been on my mind the last few days.  Oh, the things I dream of being able to do . . .

Have a good Friday all!

PS.  Keep an eye out for my next post – some more dream related musings 😉

10 thoughts on “getting my hopes up and dashed in three seconds flat

    • thank you I smelled a rat as they first wanted R 6 500 transferred in bank charges and were not interested in my bank details. berryloud@gmail co.za 25 March 2012

    • Ahh Lu, if only I’d get that lucky! 🙂
      When I have funds and remember I tend to buy tickets in advance. I console myself with the idea that some of it goes to a good cause.

    • I’m not sure if this scam is run at Company level. I think it’s mostly individuals who are taking a chance, although for the life of me I can’t figure out what they stand to gain. Maybe they get a kickback if someone actually responds to the SMS?

      You love your sleep too, huh? 😉

    • Oh, I echo that, 2summers, I totally echo that. Spam SMSs are annoying and blood-pressure-surging at normal times of the day, but in the middle of the flippin’ night – AAAAAAAAARGHHHH!!!! I simply don’t understand why our cellphone providers don’t shut them down or give us the option of black-listing them.

Leave a Reply

