Billabong Pro 2011 is in town: Jeffrey’s Bay

This isn’t the type of thing you normally see on my blog, however I felt like sharing the excitement with you.  Seeing as there already are a lot of information on the Net about J-Bay’s legendary waves I’ll just provide you with some handy links.

stationed at Supertubes

All 32 of the world’s top ranked professional surfers will be in Jeffreys Bay in July for the R3 million Billabong Pro J-Bay 2011, Africa’s only stop on the ASP World Tour, the 11-event series of events that determines surfing’s annual men’s world champion.  Continue Reading . . .

A good summary of how J-Bay’s surfing events became a part of the ASP series can be found over at JBayNews.com. Thus far this year the competition here is off to a slow start due to lay days being called on July 14th (the first day of the event), July 16th and July 17th.

Sunday 17 July 2011 - morning surf at Supertubes

I was really hoping that things would resume on Sunday and I went to the beach early.  By 7:30am I realized that it wasn’t going to happen.  Luckily there were two or three surfers in the water at Supertubes and I had the opportunity to take some shots while they spent a few hours catching the occasional wave.

A funny incident: While I was alternately standing and crouching, trying my best to do some action photography, I was approached by a couple who thought I was filming something for TV.  I had my camera on a tripod and the zoom lens was extended so I figure that must have looked impressive to them.  Or maybe they thought no amateur would be nuts enough to stand on the beach on a chilly morning on a competition lay day!

Later in the afternoon I went back to the beach, this time to Point. This is where one finds the grommets (a.k.a. young surfers) and reportedly the place where you get your feet wet (or is that “board wet”?!) when you surf in J-Bay for the first time.

Sunday 17 July 2011 - afternoon surf at Point

A few people were also out for a stroll along the beach and one doggie felt like joining the surfing fun.

It was touch-and-go this morning with another lay-day threatening.  In the end they decided to postpone the decision in half hour increments until the official call for EVENT ON came a little after 9am local time (UTC +2) this morning and ROUND 2 started around 9:45am.  Good news for the guys!

If you would like to see what’s happening down at the beach while you are at work, or where ever, there is a Live Webcast available on the Billabong Pro website.

8 thoughts on “Billabong Pro 2011 is in town: Jeffrey’s Bay

  1. I totally love it when my favourite bloggers surprise me with unexpected posts… like about surfing, which I know zippo about, but which always looked really *cool and groovy* to me when I was growing up and admiring my cousins surfing the waves back home in Nam’. Thanks for putting a smile on my face, Clouded. 🙂

    • Glad I could help you smile, Reggie. 🙂
      I envy the people who do surf, they seem fearless and adventurous to me. I’m very scared of taking a tumble in the ocean and being dragged off on a current.

  2. This is great! 🙂 I’m glad you decided to do a post on the Billabong – even if there was no competition action while you were there. Such is the life of a would-be action sports photographer . . . That last photo of the doggies is SO cute!

    • Thanks. 🙂
      I’m hoping there will still be some action this coming weekend so that I can improve on what I’ve learned from those shots. From the forecasts it sound like Thursday will be a great day, but unfortunately I’ll be sitting at work.
      It’s thrilling standing on the sidelines trying to capture THE shot!

    • Thanks, Heather!

      When I first heard the word “grommet” it didn’t evoke very nice images so why would you call a cute little beagle that?! 😉
      It seems the term grommet now also include young skate- and snowboarders.

    • I saw the animated film “Wallace and Gromit” and decided to name my dog after the dog in the film. But I made a spelling error 🙂

Leave a Reply

