from zero to one in 365 days

If you ask a mother when her child was born, she will be able to tell you the date and time to the minute, if not second.  She might even remember something else – something that seems totally unrelated to the goings on, like the color of a tie.  Not the tie around her doctor’s neck but the one worn by the stranger who crossed her path that day.

Now,  I won’t say that the birth of my little ol’ blog had quite the same impact on me.  In fact, the actual date of “birth” can turn into a debatable topic. It is, after all, not human.  It started as an idea.  So, if you celebrate an idea, is it on the date you thought of it, or the day it came to fruition?

If I choose the date (which I don’t even remember!) on which I first thought of starting a blog, it would’ve represented a little old lady by now.  Instead I’m going the easier way and say: “My blog was born the day I published my first post”.  If it was human, it would’ve been the day it said “whêeaae!”.  I went something more like “Eeeek, what have I done?!”.

2 August 2010 @ 9:48am.

That Monday dawned, same as many hundreds before it, with me feeling a little “unmotivated” in the face of yet another work week that loomed ahead.  It was especially hard after I had spent that past weekend scrubbing and cleaning until my back hurt and my eyes teared, just so that I could produce a little peephole (a.k.a. my “About” page) into my soul.  Some time was spent slaving over my mouse as well,  trying to create a header that would be just right.  I recall long phone calls and many emails to my friend Lisa who very patiently held my hand through the process and gave me invaluable advice and support.

2 August 2010, 9:48am.  My first ever post saw the light of day as a bit of a rant.  I did not plan it.  It just happened.  It scared me silly.

In the past year this little infant lived quite the life.  It went by the name “M(i)z-Hit-Run”, was dressed in “Twenty Ten” for  almost five months, burped 38 posts and got patted on the head and cooed at 73 times.

    I could be totally wrong / off the mark = M(i)z (or rather “miss”) I could be totally right = Hit I may have to take cover either way = Run

Then, a few days short of five months, the burping felt and sounded . . . off.  There was a lot of inner-conflict going on so it felt best to apply for a change of name and dress it up all pretty-like in “Spectrum“.  That’s how “clouded marbles” came to be.  Eight months later and the name is still sticking, the dress code – not so much.  It’s terrible, I know, but I didn’t think to take pictures as my blog modelled all the different clothes.  I had better take one now, because I just know it will outgrow the current “zBench” one of these days!

say "cheeeese"

One of the reasons I was scared to tackle the whole blog-thing is because I get bored pretty easily.  For someone, who also isn’t in the habit of saying much, to make it through a year without losing interest – let’s just say it is a big accomplishment for me! It says a lot about the WordPress community, my friends and all the interesting bloggers that contribute to it.

I have learned a few things this year;

* Some people find my scatter-brained type topics interesting.

* I sometimes make people smile.

* I can actually like posts.

* It’s totally okay if you don’t want to be in my tribe – I won’t hold it against you.

* I’ve met some really great people just by reading their blogs.  Which reminds me, I have to update my blog-reads soon!

* My grammar likely freaks a lot of people out.  That makes me smile, because I know I’m not perfect.

Thank you to my friends and my loyal readers for sticking by me,  in good times and slow times.  It means a lot!

14 thoughts on “from zero to one in 365 days

  1. We’re happy you’ve made it through all those transitions to where you are now! That’s what blogs do – they change and evolve with peoples live and interests and happenings. And yes you are interesting and fun and you do make people smile. Good for you for sticking with it… we’re happy to be following along!

  2. Congratulations on reaching your first blog anniversary! I agree that blogging starts with an idea . . . it also took me a while to take the plunge. Thanks for being my “blog buddy” during the past year. It’s been great to have somebody to share the blogging experience with.

  3. Happy Blogiversary 🙂
    Your posts always make me smile – if not laugh out loud!
    Looking forward to many more posts – however you dress them up 😉

    • Thank you, Lu!
      I’m smiling from ear to ear reading the wonderful comments you guys leave me. It really means so much to me. And it’s humbling knowing that I bring a smile or a laugh to someone through my posts.

      I’m glad you don’t mind the “fashion parade” that’s been going on here lately. I’m already working on another “dress”. 🙂

  4. 3 Cheers & Hip Hip Hurrah! Well done CM 😀 Love the way you described your blog and you as one person! There’s one particular line that I so totally got…”I get bored pretty easily”…I’m like that too and like you I’ve managed to stick with blogging this time although I’ve slacked off a lot recently, both with my writing and reading 😦

    Happy Writing 😀

  5. Congratulations! I enjoyed reading your reflections on your first anniversary. I’m not there yet, but I hope to make it 🙂 It’s been great to “meet” people from all over the world, and have a glimpse into their lives and cultures. Thanks for being a supporter and blog friend!

    • Thank you, Tricia!

      It is amazing how fast time goes by. You’ll reach “one”, and I hope many more, before you know it. I love looking at the pictures you take!

Leave a Reply

