my 65 minutes as a sport photographer

On a cold Saturday morning earlier this month my parents and I set off to our neighboring town.  We headed to the high school to attend a sport day between two of the Eastern Cape schools.  We were really psyched as we drove down to the rugby fields. For the first time in forever we were going to see one of my nephews in action, playing a sport he loves and enjoys.  And of course, I just had to take my camera with me!

The thing I forgot about sport events is the kiosk.  Unfortunately I didn’t think to take a picture of it.  My mouth was watering at the smells coming from there and I was just too impatient to get my hands on a pancake – the South African kind.  And then I forgot that it leaves one with sticky fingers!  It was a bit of a mission to get my hands clean enough to handle my camera.

My sister, a friend and myself made our way down to the field just before the match in which my nephew were to play.  Boy, was the wind cold down there!  My fingers felt frozen, but I had fun nonetheless.

(click on the images to enlarge)

within minutes after kick-off, the first scrum - that's my nephew kneeling behind the scrum on the right

the local team defends and gets the ball

and the visitors take it back

a new run

one parent advises from the sideline as the guys come out of another scrum

it takes a lot of concentration to catch that ball

now don't they look just like the pro's?

protecting the ball requires some serious balancing

and when you lay in a heap, no-one pays you any mind

the local team obviously saw where that pass went

my nephew defending the goal line here - whoot!

tackling sure is hard work

and the game is over with a good show of sportsmanship

Ten minutes before the whistle blew to end the game, some load cheering filled the air.  Not because of something that happened on the field where the second team were playing, mind you.  It was the first team walking by, making sure they get noticed.  Too bad the crowds don’t cheer like that for every team!

8 thoughts on “my 65 minutes as a sport photographer

  1. This looks like so much fun, Clouded. Live rugby matches, when you know some of the players and are rooting for them, is much better than TV broadcasts. Love the pics.

    • That’s so true, Reggie.
      I watch rugby on TV from time to time, but it is one of those sports that are more fun to watch with company. And the vibe at live matches is. . . there, you know? So different from the sound edited version one sees on the telly.

    • Thank you! 🙂

      I am glad that I got such clear shots of their faces. Those expressions tell stories of its own and I love trying to figure out what they were thinking at the time.

Leave a Reply

