drips and draps short haul, strange houses and stranger talk

I feel like I should say “Hello all!”, it’s been so long since I last invited you to something new to read.

A few weeks ago I helped my parents to move.  Um, now that sounds oddly strange.  Anyway, normally when you hear that someone has moved you’d assume that they went to another country, or at least another town.  Well, in this case the move was only a few streets over.

Getting ready for a move isn’t fun at the best of times. It’s the clearing out of closets and cupboards. It’s packing up the furniture, cutlery, never-never items, plants, pets, and whatnot.  I don’t know what’s worse, though.  Having it all hauled a “decent” distance, or just a few blocks.  Nope.  Scratch that!  I know it’s the short hauls that are worse.  Why?  You save money of course!  No, okay that isn’t the reason why I think it is so bad.  Saving is good. Instead of paying an arm and a leg to have professional people move your earthly possessions, it is more cost-effective to do it yourself with only the help of family and friends.  Budgetising a move. . . I think there is a name for that.  It’s called the dripsandrabshorthaul!  It takes forever and drains your battery like nothing else.

Given how I feel about the whole process it might come as a surprise (or not) when I tell you that I am looking to move as well.  Ha!  Now don’t worry.  This moving thing isn’t contagious.

Have you ever heard the saying “change is as good as a holiday”?  If you haven’t (gasp!) you would’ve if you’d read the first post on this blog.  So it’s time for a change again, but I’m being patient.  I’m patiently scanning the local papers and the Internet and patiently viewing available properties.  I’m very patiently dreaming of someday being able to build “my house”.  ‘Cause I have to tell you, some architects have the weirdest sense of practicality.  Or maybe I do. These last few weeks I’ve been looking at the strangest houses!  Actually, it’s not so much the houses that are strange as the design of it.  Know what I mean?  For the life of me I can’t figure out why a person would want to enter a house from the garage through the master bedroom!  I mean, really?!  Why should the little “holiday” houses they design be so . . . er. . . quirky?

The other day I went to look at a house and was kindly invited by the current occupant to browse it.  By the way, it seems that some people don’t take kindly to having a potential renter view the house they just made available by giving up the lease themselves.  Or maybe they are uncomfortable with strangers in their homes?  You still end up feeling rushed and the house feels unwelcoming – well, to me it does.  Not good.  That must be why this nice lady from the other day was such a pleasant surprise.

While she took me through the house she opened up a little and told me something about her life.  I won’t tell her story because I have no right to.  Suffice it to say that her life is very challenging at the moment with many different life trials involving most of her closest family members.  I’ve often wondered why people would tell someone whom they just met a whole lot about themselves, but that afternoon I realized – sometimes they just need to borrow a stranger’s ear.

Sometimes it’s okay to let the stranger/s in your life talk.

2 thoughts on “drips and draps short haul, strange houses and stranger talk

  1. I hate moving period. Any distance. Still don’t know how you survived your parents move, and are still inspired to look for a new place for yourself. I know your reasons for wanting to move, just don’t know how you can force yourself to do it. 🙂

    • I must be a little nuts, right!? 🙂

      I don’t want to do it in a rush, so it helps that I’ve already started “planning” the move (what first, how . . .) in my mind. Also, packing up the least used items so long eases my mind as I am not the fastest packer alive. These things aren’t possible when you’re just lending someone a hand.

Leave a Reply

